Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A few months ago, I wrote about the varied advice I was finding about the right time to post on social media. Advice is one thing, numbers are another. I’m a big fan of researching to find my own answers and seeing if they match ‘trusted’ advice.

Since August, I took a look at all of my tweets posted using BufferApp that had at least 10 clicks or more. What I found was interesting. Considering only those sixty qualifying tweets, they generated 3,081 clicks, 19 retweets and 18 mentions, which averaged 51.35 clicks per tweet.

BufferApp by default recommends sending tweets at four different times through the day on weekdays. While I was using all four recommended times until now, I am planning to adjust this model moving forward. Why? I found the majority of clicks were generated by only three of the posting times.

I did not see a correlation between tweets that generated engagement like retweets and mentions with those that generated clicks. It also didn’t matter if the tweets used a hashtag. In fact, tweets with hashtags generated only 21% of the total clicks.

One other trend I will continue to watch is how frequency of posts affects engagement. Looking at October and November for example, you might think that October was more “successful.” While there were more clicks, I was also posting more frequently. In November, I had less tweets but also a higher average of clicks per tweet. My assumption is that when you’re creating less noise and focusing on content your audience will find relevant, they’re more likely to click. The old supply-and-demand game.

As far as the rest of my findings, I put together this infographic to summarize.

Infographic_aug to nov 2012 tweets_hschoegler

If visuals aren’t your thing, my results could simply be put like this:

For my audience, a perfect tweet to drive traffic would be: “Agree! Great infographic in Mashable blog w/ excellent tips on top productivity. bit.ly/55555 #fortwayne.” posted on a Thursday at 11:11 a.m.

