Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On Monday, I shared an update on what I’ve been working on to achieve my Better In goal. Here are a few examples of Better Out that I’ve experienced as well.

Better Out

  • Energy and Exercise – Eating well has definitely affected my health. As a former cheerleader and coach, I was shocked that at 32, I could get winded walking up the stairs in our home. Not any more. I even ran in my first 5k this summer! I’ve found that the better I feel, the better I want to “in.” Amazing how that works, isn’t it. Check out these tips from Inc. on how to boost your own energy.
  • Giving Myself Permission – to not be or do everything. This isn’t getting permission from anyone but myself. I think we each put pressures and expectations on ourselves. I’ve read too many woman writing about this very issue recently as it relates to being a mom – working or stay-at-home. So here’s where I’m at: I’m a wife, mom and professional. Each of those roles is important to me and I’m passionate about them all. If I’m not passionate about it, I’m not going to give it high priority. And I’m certainly going to lessen the obligation I put on myself to say ‘yes.’ And it’s working! For example, I don’t check these site stats every day. I’m not dreaming up Pinterest projects and completing them regularly. Just because I can, doesn’t mean I need to or even want to. By not saying ‘yes’ to everything, I’m able to say yes to those things I love most. I’ve noted a few others giving themselves permission to do less. Michael Hyatt is reducing his frequency of posting. Naptime Diaries is taking the opportunity to only post when she truly believes she has goodness to share. No quotas to meet, no unnecessary pressure.
  • Time – Related to Giving Myself Permission, I’ve enjoyed the gift of time back in my life this Summer. Time to be with the people I love. Days filled with just my family doing nothing or riding our new bikes or enjoying our extended family. Time back at work to focus on the mission of the organization I’m privileged to serve. I have more time because I’ve limited what I’m putting “in” but I also have more time because of tools like Reeder, DropBox, Evernote and BufferApp. However you can get it, take your time back.
  • Influence. Purpose. – There are so many directions to go in with this thought and I have seen real ROI(nfluence) this year. However, I’m not sure I’m eloquent enough to say it all. Instead, I recommend you read this article from Advertising Week called “Whole People” and this one by Naptime Diaries.

If you’re a work-in-progress this year too, are you seeing benefits to your efforts?

