Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you use social media, more than likely you’ve seen a friend or two twenty share the video titled KONY 2012. If not, do yourself a favor and watch it on YouTube here.

The realities that are depicted at the hands of Joseph Kony are not in question. The term “war criminal” obviously applies. However, there are lingering questions surrounding this moving viral video. The questions: how credible is the charity behind the video (Invisible Children) and is there a true call-to-action or is it perpetuating the problem of “slacktivism“.

Personally, I haven’t researched Invisible Children but I’ve heard it mentioned by several friends who are passionate around the cause. There are many who’ve done the research though, including sites I hold to be very credible like Charity Navigator, and they deem Invisible Children to be a less than trustworthy source to invest your charitable funds. Mashable does an excellent job outlining their findings here.

Back to slacktivism. It’s a new term to me, but what it represents is all too familiar. In fact, I’m guilty of being an occasional slacktivist. My simple click “like” of the Invisible Children Facebook page shared my activity with my Facebook friends and essentially advocated their cause to my network. But did it really? Of course not! I know this, but so many others consider a “like” or a “share” truly advocating for a cause.

Is there anything wrong with this activity? Absolutely not. Could we do more? Always.

As you know, Amber and I talk about ways to get involved, serve and love our great community of Northeast Indiana. But enough talking, we want to encourage more doing so we’ve partnered with two more doers (Aaron and Andrew) for an opportunity we’re all excited about.

Don’t be a slacktivist; join us for the next Tweet Up for Good! Our goal is to have 52 individuals commit to serve and then join us in a celebratory tweet-up next month. Learn more, sign-up to volunteer and RSVP for the celebration.

