Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The soon-to-be-released book “Brandwashed” has been on my ‘to read’ list ever since hearing of it. So I was very excited to come across this ad for the book using a QR code. At this point though, I’m hoping the book gets better reviews than my mixed-review of the QR code in the ad.

Spotted: FastCompany magazine ad

Scan Result: This YouTube video of a baby saying “Macca Macca”, which according to the author means “McDonald’s”. As an aside from a mother of two, I don’t hear it nor would I assume this meant McDonald’s.

Review: I appreciate that the scan went somewhere other than a website. And, I appreciate that it connects to the message in the book. However, I was anticipating some augmented reality because the instructions with the code says “Scan, then place smart phone over baby’s mouth to hear the first words recognized by most kids worldwide.” I can tell you that you can hold the phone anywhere and the video still plays. Combine this bit of disappointment with my overall lack of belief in the meaning of the video and I’d say I’m holding out for better content in the book.

