Tags

, , , , ,

Once again, Pinterest inspired me to cook. (This inspiration is epic if you know me.) And, thanks to my coworker’s garden that grows ginormous zucchini, I chose this recipe to tackle. Unlike the stuffed green peppers and parmesan knots, I forgot to take a picture of my result. But don’t worry, these photos are much better than mine.

The only note I would make is that Basil is an interesting and welcome addition, but I’m not sure I’d use the full amount the recipe calls for. Oh, and I definitely didn’t get all fancy and use mascarpone and peach slices. Good for you if you do though. If you try this, please let me know! It met with want-the-recipe reviews at my office.

Zucchini Chocolate Loaf

Recipe Note: Although I added the basil in the batter, we couldn’t taste it in the loaf. However, sprinkling some fresh basil on the dessert served, makes a world of difference!

1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup zucchini grated
1/4 cup cocoa powder
handful chocolate chips semisweet
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
2 T basil
1/4 tsp cinnamon
salt
1 egg
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup whole milk yogurt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp baking powder

Mix the wet ingredients together and sift the dry ones in a large bowl. Add the wet mixture in three parts to the dry and fold until just combined. Pour into a 5 inch loaf pan and bake at 350 F for 45 minutes or until the cake tester comes out clean. Cool on rack to room temperature before slicing.

To serve, spread a generous teaspoon of sweetened mascarpone mixed with lemon zest. Arrange peach slices on top and sprinkle fresh basil over.

