Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

One of my favorite blogs to read is Sit a Spell written by Heather Hendrick. She’s honest, raw, and encouraging in her writing. Recently, she’s been writing a series of blog posts about caring for the poor. Before you make any assumptions about this content, let me give the example of one of her posts… “I’m a recovering modern-day slave owner.” Needless to say, she daily encourages me and challenges how my actions measure against my beliefs. For this, I love her and yet don’t know her.

Enter in a recent guest post on her blog about Sseko Sandals. Think of TOMS and now think a bit bigger. Perhaps not in number of shoes sold, but in the impact it’s having in the lives of Ugandan women. These are women who recently graduated from secondary school, and aspire to go on to attend university.

By working with Sseko, these young ladies are able to earn money for their tuition and receive an education that is not often a possibility for a young girl growing up in a war-torn and male-dominated country.

Through her blog, Heather is giving the opportunity to win a pair of these beautiful and powerful sandals. Of course I’d love to win a pair, but even if I don’t win, I’m putting it in the budget to buy a pair for sure. If you’re moved to share the Sseko story, please do so! You can find them online, on Facebook and even Twitter.

