Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

To mark the end of my thirtieth year, here are a few of my favorite things as recorded on the first day of my thirty-first.

  1. I am an HGTV fan. Pretty much all of the shows, but who doesn’t love Genevieve. She used similar illustrations done on vintage book pages in a dining room redo and I was so excited to find similar prints on Etsy. (Another love.) The initial “H” I plan to put in my office and will put a collection of six vegetables, flowers and insects in my eat-in kitchen.
  2. Sarah’s (Summer) House. How can I mention HGTV and not mention Sarah. Seriously. She may be one of the only Canadian things I like. Therefore, she gets her own number.
  3. I am committed that my next thirty years will be healthy. I will at least never be as unhealthy as I am now. Many of my birthday gifts were in this theme and I’m getting this great tank (in a favorite color, inspired by a favorite quote) and a new pair of running shoes. And since I’ve discovered my new favorite local boutique, I’m listing them here. I’m waiting to shop there until I lose a few pounds so I don’t waste money on clothes that don’t fit. (Fingers crossed!)
  4. I always love when I see women with a great statement index ring. I’m hoping that these wire wrapped beauties will be my signature index ring(s).
  5. My little guy is turning one in just a few weeks. He and his sister are definitely favorites of mine! Here are a few of my birthday favorites for him… I was worried about how to make a boy’s birthday fun and special (having grown up in a house of girls only), but I found it pretty easy once I chose a “transportation” theme. He LOVES all things with wheels so he should enjoy his party. I made an invitation and then found these great cupcake picks and other goodies on Etsy to help finish the theme. I think I’ll also get this personalized train t-shirt for him to wear on his big day.
  6. These are a few quotes I find to be lovely for a few reasons. One, I think they’re lovely to look at. Two, I feel blessed to be doing what I love and grateful to help others express their generosity. For me, 1 + 2 = meaningful. Here they are: “Whatever you are, be a good one. – Abraham Lincoln” and “I will be grateful for this day.”
  7. I’ve wanted this necklace for awhile and love it more now that it is on my neck. (Thanks to my hubby for my Mother’s Day present!) I looked at a lot of Etsy stores but this seller and her work really stood out. My necklace is customized with a quote personal to our family and other special things like family names and dates. It’s special and wonderful to look at!
  8. Thank the Lord, my children love music as much as I (and my husband) do. Really, a good song comes on and heads are bopping, hands are clapping and voices are raised. It’s joyous. And – if we’re not in the car – our feet are dancing. This song by Ray LaMontagne is getting a lot of play at our dance parties. I can sing it to my hubby and kids and I’ll look in the backseat and my daughter is singing it to her baby brother. THE greatest and my most favorite!
