Tags

, , , ,

Have you heard that phrase before? I’m sure you have. How did it make you feel? Did you roll your eyes? Cringe? Remind you of something? Mean something to you?

I’m a Christian. Like any group of people, we develop our own form of jargon. “God thing” can be used somewhat often. (And in no way am I discounting the very appropriate use of this term.) But, when we use it, do we really believe what it means?  I used it last week in a story. I completely believe it was appropriate to use, but this Sunday at church I became keenly aware what it means. Can I tell you a little bit more about this?

Thanks. First, let me tell you what it means for me to be a Christian. I believe that I am a sinner (as is every other human born in this world). I believe that I am created in the image of God (as is every other human born in this world). I believe that he loved loves me enough to sacrifice His own life for mine on the cross (as He did for every other human born in this world). I believe in this love through faith and have a personal relationship with Him because of his grace and my faith.

Back to the “God thing”. I’m busy. I’m sure you are too. It’s easy for me to fill my calendar with work, kids, husband, me, friends, community, etc. I love it. I really really love how I choose to serve and those I choose to serve with. But lately, I’ve been considering how I’m spending my time. My hours are precious. Especially with my family. So I’m asking myself: Am I doing the most and the best that I can? Am I fulfilling my true purpose?

Here’s the thing. For me as a Christian, when it all comes down to it – the only reason I’m here on this earth is to glorify Him and share Him with others so that all have the opportunity to know Him as I do.  If this is my filter, are my 10,000 hours adding up? I’m not so sure.

Here’s why I’m starting to believe this more and more. I started to wonder “what will people think if I talk about this”? Will I lose Facebook friends? Will people stop following me on Twitter? Will I get picked for the kickball team? (No. Seriously. See, I’m one of those people who loves having people like me so it might not seem like a big deal to you, but it makes me pause for sure.) This week, I had lunch with a friend from my volunteer work that I know is also a believer. I brought this topic up with her and she said she’d also been having similar thoughts. God-thing: reassurance that I’m not alone.

At church this morning, the message was on being outrageous. Not in the way you might be imagining. No Bible-thumping, changing my wardrobe or anything like that. It’s about being the salt in the earth. Talk about a God thing. He brought the very message I needed at the time I needed it most. Amazing. I shouldn’t be surprised though. He knows me better than I know myself.

We also sang one of my favorite songs, Hillsong United’s “Lead Me to the Cross”. Here are a few lyrics:

….Everything I once held dear
I count it all as lost

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down
Rid me of myself
I belong to You
Lead me, lead me to the cross

So – this is me laying down. Shifting my heart. Shifting it back to what I once knew and lived every day but haven’t done so well lately. It’s not going to be easy, but what is. I don’t think I’ll become someone you won’t recognize. I’m not going to start talking about or doing anything necessarily new. I’m going to be involved in my community as I am now. Maybe I won’t be able to do as many things. But what I will do, I’ll be doing better.

Being a Christian doesn’t have to mean giving everything up to live a life that you don’t recognize. What is does mean is living as the salt in your world. Giving it flavor. Being someone recognized as different. (For me, this doesn’t only mean being recognized as different, but also being willing to explain why I am different.) God calls us to be excellent so you can expect me to strive to do well and to love greater than I’ve been doing. Hopefully as I grow and serve better, you’ll recognize more of Him in me. I hope.

